College of Nursing inducted into prestigious honor society

Wednesday, April 17, 2013 2:10:00 PM

The prestigious Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing has inducted Stritch’s Ruth S. Coleman College of Nursing as an at-large chapter.

The format induction ceremony took place April 12 at the Italian Community Center in downtown Milwaukee.

Sigma Theta Tau is the only nursing honor society. It was founded in 1922 by six nursing students at Indiana University, with one chapter and six members. During the past 90 years, it has evolved to 469 chapters across the globe, with more than 400,000 inducted members who are active in more than 90 countries and territories. 

Founded to advance the knowledge, learning and service of nurses, the honor society focuses on scholarship and leadership in its social and ethical commitment to excellence.

The chartering of a chapter and induction of members serves as recognition of nursing excellence in the College of Nursing and a commitment to these values.  

Baccalaureate, graduate and doctoral students in nursing are invited to become members based on progress in their respective nursing program, GPA and class standing. Nurse leaders are invited who hold a minimum of a bachelor’s degree and based on their contributions to the profession of nursing.

Kelly Dries, dean of the Ruth S. Coleman College of Nursing, and two faculty members, Amy Olsen and Eileen Piering, were inducted along with one Master of Science in Nursing alumnae, one bachelor’s degree student and seven MSN students.

“Joining STTI is a tremendous opportunity that will allow our students to be part of the honor society and its international connections,” said Dries. “Faculty and students will have access to some important STTI resources that will help them grow personally and professionally.”

Dries accepted an amended copy of the chapter charter and a plaque inscribed with the school and chapter names symbolizing the College of Nursing’s commitment to nursing excellence and STTI’s purposes.