2019 Class Notes



Pictured left: Peter Engel (M.S. Management, ’83) is the president and chief executive officer of Easterseals Southeast Wisconsin in West Allis, Wisconsin.

Dr. Honora Norton (M.S. Management, ’83) was elected to a second term as board chair for Catholic Charities Community Services in Phoenix.

Nicole (Farkas) Quandt (B.A. Education/Special Education, ’86) received an honorable mention from NBC15 in Madison, Wisconsin, as part of the Crystal Apple Awards. Quandt was nominated for her work as a literacy interventionalist at Lindburg Elementary in Madison.


Father John Anderson (B.A. Religious Studies, ’91) celebrated his 25-year jubilee. He serves in the Diocese of Superior as pastor of St. Patrick in Erin Prairie and Immaculate Conception in New Richmond, Wisconsin.

Dave Hineline (M.S. Computer Science, ’91) was featured in the Waunakee Tribune in May 2018.

Karole (Hannes) Sellers (B.A. Business, ’97) is the chief of staff and event producer for the Oscar Mike Foundation, a nonprofit organization in Marengo, Illinois, that provides funding for injured veterans to participate in adaptive sports.

Kyle Freund (B.A. Public Relations, ’99; MBA, ’02) is the media manager for Fairtrade America.


Ben Haas (B.A. Accounting, ’00) is the board president for the Lombardi Cancer Foundation. Haas is the vice president and general manager of GO Riteway and was named to the Milwaukee Business Journal’s “40 under 40” list.

Kristin (Barnes) Eckert (B.S. Business Administration, ’01) is controller at Exhibit Systems in Brookfield, Wisconsin.

Pictured right: Dr. Roxie Hentz (M.B.A., ’01; Ph.D. Leadership, ’09) was featured in Madison Magazine in a story focused on the success of CEOs of Tomorrow, the social entrepreneurship education nonprofit organization she founded in 2016.

Maria (Patterson) Sorce (B.A. Theater, ’01) was the scenic designer for “Legally Blonde: The Musical,” a Coeur d’Alene Summer Theater production in Coeur d’Alene, Idaho.

Paul Herrick (M.S. Educational Leadership, ’02) is an eighth grade science teacher in the Marshall School District in Marshall, Wisconsin.

Captain J. Philip Horter (M.S. Management, ’02) retired from the City of Brookfield, Wisconsin, police department after 31 years of service.

Frank Korb (M.A. Visual Studies, ’02) joined the art department at Fort Atkinson High School in Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin. Korb also is the new chair for the Wisconsin Art Education Association’s Youth Art Month.

Dr. Anthony Brazouski (M.S. Educational Leadership, ’03; Ph.D. Leadership, ’15) is the assistant superintendent of human resources, safety and athletics for the Proviso Township High Schools District 209 in Illinois.

Amy Pugh (M.S. Educational Computing, ’03) is the director of information technologies for Lynchburg City Schools in Lynchburg, Virginia.

John Edwards (B.A. Psychology, ’04; M.A. Clinical Psychology, ’09) is a training instructor and writer at the Army Management Staff College in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas.

Stephanie (Babler) Rohner (M.S. Educational Leadership, ’04) is the sixth grade Reading, English and Language Arts (RELA) teacher for the Marshall School District in Marshall, Wisconsin.

Pam (Lennox) Haller (B.S. Management, ’05; M.B.A., ’14) is the executive vice president/chief digital experience and marketing officer for Royal Credit Union in Eau Claire, Wisconsin.

Kim-Thoa (Tran) Janssen (M.B.A., ’07) was featured in the Citrus County Chronicle for her work as a certified mentor with Citrus/Levy County SCORE in Florida.

Aaron Robertson (B.A. Political Science, ’07; M.S. Management, ’13) is an independent associate at LegalShield.

Ashlei (Coffey) Hansel (M.S. Educational Leadership, ’08) is a special education teacher at Hudson High School in Hudson, Wisconsin.

Joe Nettesheim (M.S. Religious Studies, ’08) is the executive director of the Adult Literacy Center of Ozaukee County in Grafton, Wisconsin.

Janette Braverman (M.S. Management, '09), dean of Stritch's College of Business and Management, was named a Milwaukee Business Journal 2018 Woman of Influence. Several colleagues joined her at the ceremony.

Andrew Hall (B.S. Business Administration, ’09) earned a designation of certified trust and financial advisor. Hall is an assistant vice president and wealth adviser for Illinois Bank & Trust.

Joanna Kerner (B.A. Theater, ’09) released a new single, “Ghosted,” and performed at Milwaukee’s Summerfest in July 2018.


Dr. Jon Metz (M.A. Lay Ministries, ’10; Ph.D. Leadership, ’18) is an adjunct instructor for Marquette University’s Department of Social and Cultural Science in Milwaukee. Metz is the director of Christian Formation at Lumen Christi Catholic Church in Mequon, Wisconsin.

Dr. Marquita Taylor (M.B.A., ’12; Ph.D. Leadership, ’18) was featured in the Yale News for her work with the Jones-Zimmerman Academic Mentoring Program. Taylor is the assistant director for innovation and leadership development at the Center for Public Service and Social Justice at Yale University.

Pictured left: Dr. Anselmo Villarreal (Ph.D. Leadership, ’14) received the Doug Jansson Leadership Award from the Greater Milwaukee Foundation for his nonprofit leadership in helping underserved communities. He is the chief executive officer of La Casa de Esperanza in Waukesha, Wisconsin.

Megan (Bernardy) Wells (M.S. Sport Management, ’14) is the girls’ basketball coach for Christian Life School in Kenosha, Wisconsin.

Byron Marshall (A.S. Business, ’15) wrote “I Told God All About It: [10] Prayers to Weather the Storm,” a devotional book published in May 2018.

Dr. Shawn Anthony Robinson (Ph.D. Language and Literacy, ’15) is a senior research associate for Wei LAB, Wisconsin’s Equity and Inclusion Laboratory, housed within the Wisconsin Center for Education Research at the School of Education, University of Wisconsin—Madison.

Israel “Izzy” Lugo, III (B.A. Sport Management, ’16) was featured in the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel for ie.eg, the digital marketing company he launched with former Stritch student Quentin Allums.

Trent Probst (M.S. Educational Leadership, ’16) is the assistant principal and athletic director for Somerset High School in Somerset, Wisconsin.

Yesenia Castro Garcia (B.A. International Business, ’17) is the director of admissions for St. Thomas More High School in Milwaukee.

Dr. Kimberly (Heffernan) Moore (Ed.D. Leadership – Higher Education, ’17) is the associate vice president for student life and dean of students for Miami University in Oxford, Ohio.

Heidi Ancira (B.S. Criminal Justice, ’18) is a correctional officer for the Milwaukee County Sheriff’s Office.

Jessica Pawlak (B.A. Theater, ’18) appeared as Sister Sophia in “The Sound of Music” production at the West Performing Arts Center in New Berlin, Wisconsin.

Jessica Pool (B.A. Business, ’18) is a recruiter for Aerotek.

Our prayers and condolences go out to the family and loved ones of…

Allan Charles Baldwin, former adjunct instructor, who died on Aug. 9, 2018, at age 61.

Linda D'Acquisto, director of artsHUBmke, who died on Dec. 27, 2017, at age 59.

Joanne (Torpey) Faucette (B.S. Management, ’88), who died on July 23, 2018, at age 85.

Sister Jane Hoffman, OSF, (B.A. Educations, '51), who died on July 22, 2018, at age 94.

Donna (Read) Norton (M.S. Management, ’91), who died on June 22, 2018, at age 64.

Mary Ellen (Coffey) Pierson (M.A. Special Education, ’78), who died on April 23, 2018, at age 90.

Sister Patricia Weninger, OSF, (B.A. Education, '47, M.A. Special Education, '63), who died on July 5, 2018, at age 96.