Skip to main content

Class Notes 2019

Fall 2019


The Class of 1969 celebrated its 50th Reunion in June 2019, as part of the first All-University Reunion Weekend. Special events included the Jubilarian pinning ceremony, a presentation in the Sister Margaret Ruddy, OSF, Archives, and a class dinner.


Souheil Badran (B.A. Computer Studies,’88; M.B.A., ’97) was named COO and featured in the in-depth September 2019 WatersTechnology article, “Souheil Badran Oversees Northwestern Mutual’s Innovation Program,” focusing on his background, outlook and efforts as the chief innovation officer for Northwestern Mutual in Milwaukee.


James Konicek (B.A. Art, ’95) appeared on Showtime’s series The Chi in spring 2019. He also played Olin Britt in summer 2019 at the Goodman Theatre’s production of The Music Man in Chicago.

Becky (Piasecki) Pinter (B.A. Sociology,’98; M.S. Management, ’04) is the president and CEO of the MACC Fund in Milwaukee.


Todd Antony (M.S. Computer Science, ’00) is the superintendent for the School District of Onalaska in Onalaska, Wisconsin.

Amy Deal (B.A. Psychology, ’00) is a lead supervisor at Easterseals Southeast Wisconsin.

Sean Jung (B.A. Math, ’01) was featured in a Racine Journal Times article focused on the efforts he’s made to bring the Union Grove High School (Wisconsin) girls soccer team from losing seasons to state ranking.

Dr. Ryan Krohn (M.S. Educational Leadership, ’01; Ph.D. Leadership, ’14) is the district administrator/principal of Stone Bank School in Oconomowoc, Wisconsin.

Tom Richie (M.S. Management, ’01) was inducted in August 2019 into the Barron Golden Bears Reaching Dreams Hall of Fame at Barron High School in Barron, Wisconsin.

Paul Herrick (M.S. Educational Leadership,’02) is the principal of Marshall Middle School in Marshall, Wisconsin.

Kari (Knox) Kreger (B.S. Business Administration, ’02; M.S. Management, ’07) is a human resource manager at Fristam Pumps in Middleton, Wisconsin.

Craig Arneson (M.B.A., ’03) is the business development director for Honeybear Brands in Minnesota.

Jason Ryan Lovett (B.A. Theater, ’03) was cast in “Brain Problems” at the Pico Playhouse in Los Angeles in spring 2019.

Sarah Huibregste (M.S. Computer Science, ’04) is an assistant professor of computer science at the University of Mount Union in Ohio.

Joe Sanfelippo (M.S. Educational Leadership, '05; Ph.D. Leadership, '12) was named the national Superintendent of the Year by Education Dive. He is the superintendent of the Fall Creek (Wis.) School District and was recognized for his approach, which "doesn't just promote the wins that occur between school walls to the broader community: It builds a culture that celebrates students and staff at all levels of the organization and extends a helping hand when needed."

Dr. Robert Mayfield (Ph.D. Leadership, '06) was named the 2020 Superintendent of the Year by the Wisconsin Association of School District Administrators. He is the superintendent for the Kimberly Area School District in Kimberly, Wisconsin.

Christine Paciero (M.S. Educational Leadership, ’06) is the athletic academic support and compliance specialist for Oakton Community College in Illinois.

Ginger Wolf (B.S. Management, ’07) is a national sales vice president on the Specialty Insurance Markets team for National Guardian Life Insurance Company, headquartered in Madison, Wisconsin.

Kamaljit “KC” Jackson (B.S. Business Administration, ’08) is the vice president of programs and operations for the Wisconsin Women’s Business Initiative Corp.


Michael Hostad (B.S. Management, ’10) is organizing an effort to fundraise for “Light the Hoan,” crowdfunding money to install lights on Milwaukee’s Hoan Bridge with the goal of having the project ready in time for the 2020 Democratic National Convention.

Dr. Jon Metz (M.A. Lay Ministries, ’10; Ph.D. Leadership, ’18) is the mission integration coordinator for Milwaukee Catholic Home. Metz is also the director of formation for Lumen Christi Catholic Church in Mequon, Wisconsin.

Jason Moon (M.A. Religious Studies, ’10) is the founder of Warrior Songs, which received the Wisconsin Area Music Industries Album of the Year 2019 for “Women at War: Warrior Songs Vol. 2.”

Timothy Brown (M.A. Literacy and Learning Disabilities, ’11) is the principal for the School District of Oakfield’s middle and high schools in Oakfield, Wisconsin.

Josh Krause (B.A. Theater, ’11) played the character Tony Lumpkin in the American Players Theatre summer 2019 production “She Stoops to Conquer” in Spring Green, Wisconsin.

Carrie Wright (M.S. Educational Leadership, ’12) is the upper school principal for Christian Life School in Kenosha, Wisconsin.

Nancy Aycock (B.F.A. Photography, ’13) is the Children’s Library Associate at Pauline Haass Public Library in Sussex, Wisconsin.

Nick Ford (B.A. History, ’14) is the boys basketball coach at Fond du Lac High School in Fond du Lac, Wisconsin.

Adam Scanlan (M.A. Teaching, ’15; M.S. Educational Leadership, ’16) is the principal and director of special education at Swallow School in Hartland, Wisconsin.

Rebecca (Clausen) Bordner (B.A. Communications, ’16) is a marketing specialist for Monroe Clinic in Monroe, Wisconsin.

Dr. Matthew Goodwin (Ph.D. Leadership—Higher Education, ’16) is the associate vice president and dean of students at St. Joseph’s College in Portland, Maine.

Ryan Heft (M.S. Educational Leadership, ’17) is the assistant principal for Burlington High School in Burlington, Wisconsin.

William Pelkhofer (B.S. Management, ’18) was featured in a May 2019 Milwaukee Independent story about his journey to becoming a pilot.

2019 Women of Influence

The Milwaukee Business Journal 2019 Women of Influence recognition included three alumnae. Congratulations to:

  • Michele Carter, ’90, Wisconsin Department of Transportation
  • Raquel Filmanowicz, ’03, BMO Harris Bank
  • Denise Thomas, ’06, The Effective Communication Coach.

We remember those who have died

Our prayers and condolences go out to the families and loved ones of...

...Sister Charlene Chang, OSF (B.A. Education, '67), who died Dec. 15, 2019, at age 98.

...Sister Leona Steilen, OSF (A.A. Child Care, '74), who died Nov. 24, 2019, at age 94.

...Dr. Art Wasserman (former dean of the College of Business and Management), who died on Nov. 22, 2019, at age 91.

...Sister Mary Celestine Rupprecht, OSF (B.A. History, ’61; M.A. Reading Language Arts, ’75), who died on Aug. 10, 2019, at age 92. In addition to her studies at Stritch, she worked in the Reading Clinic.

...Doris Fischer (B.A. Special Education, ’63), who died on May 27, 2019, at age 95.

...Sister Margaret Jo Brown, OSF (B.A. Music, ’51), who died on May 18, 2019, at age 97.

...Kathleen (Stewart) Pluskat (B.S. Business Administration, ’06), who died on May 15, 2019, at age 71.

...Bonnie Bowers Wymyss-Koch (M.S. Management, ’93), who died on April 18, 2019, at age 77.

...Meredith Gillette (former director of the Stritch Library), who died on April 15, 2019, at age 88.

...Christine (Sauer) Parsons (B.A. Biology, ’69), who died on Feb. 22, 2019, at age 72.

...Sister Rebecca Burke, OSF (B.A. English, ’66), who died on Jan. 26, 2019, at age 75. Sister taught in Stritch’s Special Education Department from 1991–1993.